Six Feet Under – “Pilot” Review

Going into my full watching of Six Feet Under, I really didn’t and still don’t know what to expect. The most I’ve ever seen of this show is the beginning of the second episode yesterday (March 8th), and now the Pilot episode. That’s it. I didn’t know who was in it, I didn’t know what it was about, I didn’t know when it aired, absolutely nothing. So, once I found out that I was able to use HBO GO, I jumped at the chance. And I have to say, the pilot episode served its purpose well. It introduced the characters of the Fisher family well, as well as Frederico and Brenda. And it also served the purpose of showing how fucked up the Fisher family really is. When I say fucked up, I mean FUUUUUCKED UP. Makes for great television thus far.

One thing I have to say about the episode that I feel was a negative was the mother, Ruth’s, acting in the final scenes. Yes, I understand that she’s grief stricken, and rightfully so, but the crying acting just seemed too forced and fake for me to believe it. Maybe this was intended, maybe it wasn’t, but whatever the case may be, it took away from the moment. I also don’t know the name of the actress who plays Ruth, so forgive me for that.

The brotherly dynamic between Nate and David is played out well, showing David’s complete disdain of his older brother for leaving everyone at home so he could live his life the way he wanted. That comes across from the moment the two first see each other, and it’s an underlying theme of practically the entire episode, and that’s definitely a compliment to Michael C. Hall and the actor who plays Nate. Again, I don’t know the actors names, and I apologize for that. The only reason I know that Michael C. Hall is David is because he’s instantly recognizable because of Dexter.

Other than that, like I said, it served it’s purpose and set the series in motion on a pretty interesting track, one I hope will get better as the show goes on. That being said, I can’t give it a really high mark, though I think my grade is fitting for it.

3.5 Stars

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

